Driving and Reflecting

When I visited my in-law’s vacation home last weekend, I had to drive about 4.5 hours to get there. I drove by myself because the timing just didn’t work out with my SIL. I wasn’t too excited about the drive because I hadn’t driven the route in a few years. DH usually does the driving. After I got out of the city, and horrific holiday weekend traffic, the drive was actually really nice.

Since I was by myself, I was able to blare my music and sing along. I’m not ashamed, I love Backstreet Boys, and Britney Spears. I also have a playlist called Country Girls. My foray into country is quite limited, so this playlist was pretty much Carrie Underwood, and Taylor Swift.

One of the songs that really hit a chord (haha, I made a punny!) with me was Jesus, Take the Wheel by Carrie Underwood. I haven’t cried in a while, but when I was listening to this song, tears just started streaming down my face. The part that hit me the most was part of the second verse:

For the first time in a long time
She bowed her head to prayed
She said I’m sorry for the way I’ve been living my life
I know I’ve got to change

One of the things I always ask myself is what have I done in the past to deserve to be punished like this. Am I a bad person? Why have I been dealt this hand? What can I do to be a better person? How can I grow my faith? All I can do now is pray, try to live a better life, and like Elisha from Waiting for Baby Bird said, I need to TRUST! Maybe it’s a sign since she announced her pregnancy the same day!
I’m Catholic, so our music is pretty bah humbug. I would love some recommendations on Christian music. I’ve been loving Brian Littrell’s Christian CD (LOVE MY BSB!! lol)

8 thoughts on “Driving and Reflecting

Leave a comment