{Pg Post} The nesting has begun!

How has it been almost a month since my last post? Things have been going well. I saw my OBGYN about two weeks ago at 14+3. Today I’m 17+1! The OB appointment was my first. The appointment was pretty straight forward. The OB gave DH and I a run down of what to expect. The first thing he said to us was that we need full-time help. LOL. I’m glad he said it, because I was already planning on hiring a nanny, but DH wasn’t quite on board.

The doctor also went over typical discomforts like heartburn, hemorrhoids, etc. He also talked about complications. The biggest thing we have to be concerned about is pre-term labour, and pre-term birth. I will be able to have a vaginal birth if both babies are head down, and if baby A is larger than baby B. Anything else, I’ll probably have to have a c-section. I told him about the spotting, and he said not to worry about it, but don’t expect it to stop either. Sigh. Looks like I’ll be tied to panty liners forever. Best news for me was that I don’t have to cut out any foods. He said it’s safe to even have sashimi! I was so relieved to hear that. I can also exercise! So of course, I started going back to my beloved Bar Method. I had stopped going in September because I was travelling, then we started on IVF #2, and I just never reactivated my pass. I didn’t realize how much I missed it until I went back.

Anyway, the doctor also did a Doppler and let us hear the heartbeats. He wasn’t going to do an ultrasound until I asked. Unfortunately, he only has a portable ultrasound which was attached to his laptop, so we didn’t get any pictures. As of week 14, I measured 18 weeks. I’m still waiting for my ultrasound appointment at the hospital. I think this will be my anatomy scan. It’s been over two weeks since the request was sent in, and I still haven’t heard back. Hopefully, my appointment will be within the next two weeks or so.

So, nesting. I didn’t think much of it when friends told me about it. I just assumed it was more to do with getting the nursery in order. But nope, for me, I decided to clean out and reorganize the kitchen cabinets. It actually didn’t take me that long, maybe 3 hours total, and I’m so happy with the results! I’ve also been baking like a mad woman. I’ve been baking Brazilian Cheese Bread which is insanely easy to make! I’ve also been making Hokkaido Milk Bread, but of course with Canadian milk. I love this bread because it’s pretty much what all Asian breads are based off of. It was also super easy to make. I’m tempted to try making sour dough, English muffins, or bagels, but I just haven’t been motivated enough to do it quite yet.

I’ve also started cleaning out the room for the nursery. DH had all his receipts thrown on the desk in the room, so I organized it all for him since it felt like he was never going to get around to it. MIL has a friend who is going to take our extra furniture, including my Total Gym (gotta love infomercials!), and an exercise bike from the 80s. No joke – it’s from the 80s.

DH still needs to move a bookcase from the nursery down to the basement, and also all his books that are strew around the room. But before he can do that, he needs to clean up the basement so we can actually see the floor. I hope he will do this in the next couple of weeks. But chances are, he won’t. UGH.

Here’s a bump pic! It’s definitely starting to get hard to hide this bump at work!IMG_8500

4 thoughts on “{Pg Post} The nesting has begun!

  1. Glad things are going well. My doctor also mentioned to me that our biggest concerns are pre-term labor and pre-term birth. Both are scary but all I can do is take care of myself and hope fo the best 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

