Quick 1st Week Midweek Update

Today is day 5 of our first IVF cycle! I’ve been on 125iu of Puregon, and 75iu of Menopur. I’ll save my symptoms and feelings for a longer full week update.

I had my first blood test yesterday. I thought I would get a U/S too, but I didn’t. When the nurse called with instructions, I was told to come back today (a day early) for another blood test and U/S, but stay with the same units of medication. I didn’t find out what my levels were on the phone yesterday. The nurse sounded like she was in a rush, and wasn’t receptive to questions.

When I was having my blood drawn this morning, I asked what my levels were and she said E2 was 980. Well, she just said 980, I had to ask the U/S nurse what the number was referring to. The “blood” nurse said it’s a little elevated, and generally 600 is ideal, but the U/S nurse said I’m right on track…sooo am I elevated or on track?

I had a different doctor from the last 2 U/S, but still not “my” doctor. She was very nice, and brought a resident with her. The resident was pregnant. I wonder if she feels awkward in exams where women are trying to get pregnant, and she’s clearly pregnant.

Anyway, I have 4 follies on my right, and more on my left. The doctor didn’t say how many, but she said my left one was working harder than the right. I wasn’t told what my lining was, or if it was even measured.

I got my blood test results around 11am today, and my E2 was at 1758 (day 5). I asked if this was really high, and the nurse said it just means I’m responding well. I don’t know, but I feel like it’s high (this is based on no Googling, just gut feeling LOL). I will continue the same dosage for Puregon and Menopur, but I need to add Orgalutran tonight. I don’t need to go back for another scan until Thursday.

Any thoughts on these numbers?

12 thoughts on “Quick 1st Week Midweek Update

  1. I bet the ultrasound resident is so uncomfortable working around women who are trying to become pregnant. I’m sorry they were so unresponsive and you got mixed answers. I hope everything sorts itself out soon and everything goes smoothly from here on out.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not super knowledgeable in the E2 area but it seems a little high for day 5 maybe? But maybe it’s because you have a lot more follicles on the other side or something. It seems a bit frustrating for them not to give you any info on everything they checked.

    Like

Leave a Reply

