#MicroblogMonday: Spermies are a’freezing!

Microblog_MondaysAs I write this post, DH is at our RE’s office doing his thing! We weren’t planning on freezing his swimmers, but after we scheduled DH’s in-office SA, the nurse called back and said our RE wants the sperm frozen.I’m not sure how I feel about freezing the sperm. It’s $425 to our rolling total, but I’m not 100% convinced it’s absolutely necessary. DH’s counts, motility, morph etc. hasn’t changed, his count actually improved slightly. It’s still only 5 million, so I understand the concern, but we only need one right? Well, I guess we need one for every egg.

Will DH give another sample on the day of retrieval? Or will they only use the frozen guys? What if the frozen ones don’t survive the thaw?

Were you required to freeze the spermies?

Want to be part of Microblog Mondays? Head over to Stirrup Queens to get started!

13 thoughts on “#MicroblogMonday: Spermies are a’freezing!

  1. Ah, freezing the spermies! We were required to do this, but not to bolster counts (as you only need as many good sperm as you have good eggs, and even with only 1,000,000 as opposed to the “normal” 50,000,000, they could find good ones). It was in case something happened and the timing was such that my husband couldn’t make it — like a weather situation and a business trip all at once, a family emergency where he couldn’t be here, etc. It was kind of like insurance for us. We’ve never used it, we always used the fresh sample on the day of. I hope this helps! You’re getting closer!

    Like

  2. Our RE gave us the option of freezing my hubby’s. There reasoning at the time is that some husbands are so nervous about their wife going in for retrieval, etc. that they don’t produce enough of a sample or “can’t” produce a sample in the time frame allotted at all. So they sometimes ask that you freeze some in the even that happens. And since we had the option, we opted out.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Our protocol wasn’t to freeze they wanted it fresh that day. I don’t know if that had to do with the study we are a part of or not but there are no issues with him either way so I’m not sure.

    Like

  4. We didn’t have a frozen protocol. I wonder now if it would have helped us.

    That being said, as I was reading this I was on the phone to my sister who lives in Boston. As you know, Boston has been blanketed under a lot of snow. Anyway my brother-in-law was shoveling out and as we were on the phone, came in screaming “My balls are —-ing Frozen!” I have to say–at least this freezing sounds a little easier than my BIL! šŸ™‚

    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sounds like a back up plan. I knew someone where the facility was going to offer to use donor sperm if the fresh sperm was not going to work on the day of the procedure. They were a little upset by this because this part of the plan was not shared with them until the day of the procedure. They would have liked to have had full information of all of their options ahead of time. It just didn’t cross their mind that they wouldn’t have his sperm on that day. Fortunately, his sperm was good and the procedure went well. They were glad that they didn’t have to be surprised to quickly make a decision on something they hadn’t had time to really consider if they were comfortable. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

