Getting started, but I have no idea what’s happening!

We are finally starting IVF! Unlike some other couples struggling with IF, DH and I have not tried Clomid, Femara, or IUI. We will not be trying these methods. When I met with my OB last year, he immediately referred us to a fertility clinic due to DH’s sperm issues. After meeting with two different RE’s, they both agree that with DH’s low sperm counts, motility, and whatever else they look at, the chance of anything succeeding besides IVF are very slim.IVF-Injections-

It took me a couple weeks after I decided that we’re ready to begin to even email our RE. The nurse has since emailed me the consent forms, and info packets on PGD. There’s not much information about what the timeline is, so I’m kind of at a loss.

I need to call the clinic on CD1, and start BCP (Marvelon) on CD3. I think I’m supposed to go in for a U/S on CD3 as well, but I’m not sure. There was also a mention of a saline scan. But I’ve already done a HSG, is that not the same thing? I think we won’t be scheduling an injection training day until I go for my U/S. But again, I’m not sure. I’m also guessing I’m on the antagonist protocol based on what I’ve read about the different protocols. Also, my insurance doesn’t pay for agonist drugs like Lupron, so I really hope I’m on an antagonist protocol.

I hope some of you ladies will be able to give me some insight as to what happens the first couple of days!! Thanks in advance!!

16 thoughts on “Getting started, but I have no idea what’s happening!

  1. Yep, you pretty much have it down. You will go in for an ultrasound and bloodwork on day 3. They’ll count how many follicles you have and check to see that you have no cysts and everything looks normal. Then you’ll take BCP for however long your clinic requires. After that, you’ll go in for another ultrasound and bloodwork to make sure your ovaries are suppressed. And then you’ll start the injections! A saline ultrasound is different than an HSG, but I don’t know much about it. My clinic has everyone get a hysteroscopy before starting a cycle, so a saline ultrasound could be part of your clinic’s standard IVF protocol. Hopw this helps. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award | While We Wait

  3. Wishing you all the best in this first cycle! When I was going through my first cycle a few blogger friends reached out to me (they had been through similar situations) and it was so helpful to have their advice about what was happening. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions: whilewewaitk@gmail.com

    Like

  4. Best of luck to you! I had no idea what to expect either and literally just followed our clinic instructions step by step, not really knowing what was next until it happened. I think ever clinic and individual follows a slightly different process but I wrote a little bit about my first (and only so far) cycle in my blog. I still dont really know much about the technical aspects though, I just try and look after myself physically and psychologically and keep my fingers crossed 🙂 I will keep mine crossed for you too and I look forward to following your journey.

    Like

  5. I’m new to the blogging world, and happy that I came across your page. We will *hopefully* be starting our IVF journey in March/April. It sounds like our paths are similar…? The scan that they are talking about might be a hysteroscopy. I had the HSG also, and was supposed to get the hysteroscopy but it was cancelled last minute. I’ll also be on the same BCP and antagonist protocol… but I don’t know/understand ANY of the details together. There is so much to learn when you are going through IVF! Anyways, good luck and I’m looking forward to following along!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Welcome!! There is a great group of women here! I’ve been researching and learning about IVF for almost a year and I’m still figuring it out.

      I attached an article from a pharmacist in my previous post, Insider Info. You might find it helpful. It clarified some of the drugs for me.

      Good luck!!

      Like

  6. Wishing you luck sugars! There is just a lot of blood work and ultrasounds in the beginning. Be prepared to have things change often and spur of the moment. That was something I wasn’t prepared for and as a planner…it totally shook me up. hehe! For instance, my retrieval date was pushed back several times and I had to go in for extra blood work that wasn’t scheduled as well. If anything, IVF taught me how to just roll with the punches 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. IVF can be different for everyone depending on how u respond. But yes u start bcp, have an ultrasound on cd 3 to check for cyst. The saline ultrasound is to check for polyps, fibroids, etc. They insert dye into ur uterus and do a 3D ultrasound. In my case I had polyps so had to have surgery to remove them prior to starting stims.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pretty much what everyone has said above is what I am doing too. The Dr. wanted me on BCP’s for around 21 days. I had the saline ultrasound back on the 15th and everything was clear. It was just a little uncomfortable but totally bearable. I should start my Lupron tomorrow so we’ll see. I can’t wait to know what’s going on in this process for your since it sounds like we will be pretty close in schedule. Yeah the cd3 ultrasound is yuck to me but whatever, they are used to doing them! haha

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: #MicroblogMonday: Early symptoms, or wishful thinking? | Baby, Are you Coming?

Leave a Reply

