“Meet The 20-Somethings Who Want To Be Sterilized”

Patient in medical officeI saw this article this morning as I was scrolling through my Facebook feed, and the headline made me so angry! My first thought was how can a 20-something possibly know that they won’t want children in the future? After I calmed down a bit, I read through the article.

While I respect women’s choices in not wanting children, I can’t wrap my head around why she would want a procedure that is permanent. You just never know what’s going to happen in the future. Yes, the first woman in the article has known that she didn’t want children since she was a teenager, and has be steadfast in that view throughout her twenties, but things could change so quickly.

I understand that no type of birth control is 100% (case in point – my SIL’s friend who got pregnant at Oktoberfest by accident – UGH), but there are options for long-term contraception that doesn’t require you to take a pill every day.

I wish God could rearrange our fertility wishes. Give fertility to those who desperately need and want it, and take it away from those who don’t. These women who are giving up their fertility so easily don’t realize how badly us infertiles want what they have.

5 thoughts on ““Meet The 20-Somethings Who Want To Be Sterilized”

  1. I thought for sure I wouldn’t want to have children (for various reasons, many stemming from my childhood experiences), and for a long time I wanted a permanent solution to how horrible I felt every month. It’s funny how time can change things, and I’m so glad I never pursued sterilization.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! I completely understand why some women would choose not to have children, but like I said in the article, you just never know. I’m not a fan of anything permanent (like tattoos), because as you get older, things change, and your perceptions and beliefs could change.

      Like

    • I got a vasectomy shortly before I turned 31. I was ready to fight for it, after reading articles like this for years, but the urologist (who, I noticed later, is on a list of childfree-friendly doctors) gave me no pushback. As he was leaving the consultation, I added, unnecessarily, that on the vanishingly small chance that I change my mind, I don’t have the hang-ups about adoption that so many people seem to have. I had the surgery, which I had wanted for years, and I give thanks and feel relief every day that I will never cause a pregnancy. It’s true that combining condoms with withdrawal is virtually foolproof, but that can get expensive after a while, among other things.

      These women are adults, and adults can make decisions, even (especially!) permanent ones, about their lives. Having a child is essentially permanent as well, and I don’t see nearly as much second-guessing about a permanent decision that comprehensively affects somebody else’s life! The sheer numbers of abused and neglected children make it pretty obvious that plenty of people regret childbearing, along with plenty of people who make competent parents but cannot bring themselves to admit that they regret doing so.

      Like

Leave a Reply

