New Job, New Perspective!

Yes, DH is finally starting his new job on Monday, and he’ll stop eating my packed lunches! But, I will also be starting a new job in a couple of weeks! It was a hard decision for me to leave my current role as a freelancer. I love what I’m doing, the people I work with are great. However, with the inevitable cost of IVF, I needed to find a role with benefits.

I’m so happy to say that my new role is a permanent role, with benefits, and specifically for fertility drugs! While I didn’t search specifically for a job that pays for fertility drugs, this was a nice bonus. It was truly difficult for me to resign. While I didn’t need to explain why I was leaving, when one of my managers came up to chat, I felt like I needed to tell her why. I explained that DH and I are starting fertility treatments soon, and I needed a job with benefits.

To my surprise, she said, ME TOO! She asked if we were going to Olive, our first clinic, and I said no, and told her about our experience. Again, to my surprise, she had also gone to the same clinic, and didn’t like it either! Turns out we are both now at the same clinic! Hearing this just makes me feel so much better about our decision. I just read Infertile Girl’s post, Three Infertiles Walk into a Room…, and while I know infertility isn’t that uncommon, I think my brain is finally understanding that a lot more people are having trouble like us. Maybe DH has the right idea after all?

8 thoughts on “New Job, New Perspective!

  1. Congratulations on the new job and best of all the fertility drug coverage! That is huge! It’s also very eye opening to realize just how many people suffer in silence with fertility problems. It is so widespread, yet some people are still uncomfortable talking about it. I wish you the best of luck!

    Like

    • Thank you!! I’m looking forward to my new job. When I meet someone who is living with infertility, I just want to talk to them forever, but it’s hard because like you said, a lot of people are just uncomfortable with talking about it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

